Catch of the Day

The day before I’d noticed a nauseating smell coming from the dock area and wondered to myself whether this was where the fishermen brought the fish to meet their deaths. Indeed I discovered it was. A man stood on a boat docked on the pier and threw huge fish over the edge into a large crate. I’m not a big fish eater and the smell is not a pleasant one to me. To add to my disgust, a number of people had gutted their fish right there on the sidewalk, leaving blood lying in puddles. Right next to this was a stall with the fish laid out on a tarp and covered in ice, ready to be sold. Apparently the harbour at Cape Point is much, much worse and I’m not sure if I’d be able to stomach it.

Leave a Reply

