At university I took a few modules of Zoology, one of which entailed many long hours of scratching around on the rocks at De Hoop Nature Reserve to find and identify as many sea creatures as possible. Thankfully, I remembered some of what I learnt and managed to teach my lecturer some new and interesting facts about the little creatures which she was afraid of touching. We managed to rescue a chiton (polyplacophora) and a star fish (although I think later a little girl found it on a rock, plucked it off and popped it in her bucket).

Leave a Reply

